Who are you? That’s a stupid question

Tuesday, 2 September, 2014

I’m not a “who”. I am just me. I can’t explain it, but why should I have to?

Can’t you see who I am? This is it. This, what you see right here. In front of your eyes. I am no object, nor am I a phenomenon, so I can not give you a definition.

Sure, there are some things that may define me. I am a sister, a daughter, a girlfriend, a friend, a cousin, an acquaintance. But that’s not all that I am.

I like some movies, some songs, some books, some pencils.. But that’s also not enough to define me.

I may spend my time in a certain way, have certain beliefs and fears, but since I am not the only human being in the world who has these preferences, simply sharing them won’t answer that question.

I am more than the words coming out of my mouth or the conscious thoughts that I have inside my head.

I am also not the sum of the above. There is so much more to me than the infinity of things that may define me.

I am not a machine that works under a simple set of rules: “Likes this, does that, if this happens then does that”. Given an imbalance in my life, there is no telling of how I will react to it.

And, to top it off, I am in a continuous change. Who I was yesterday might not be the same as I am today.

There are an infinity of preferences, beliefs, feelings and changes that I am going through, as we’re speaking.

I am impossible to define.

So how can you expect a simple answer to an impossible question?

Leave a Reply

