Don’t get out of your comfort zone!

Monday, 30 June, 2014

I’m an AIESECer, which means that I hear the phrase “Get out of your comfort zone!” quite often.

Image

This phrase is meant to motivate you to improve yourself by doing different stuff, stuff that you’re not used to doing, stuff that you don’t know how to do, stuff that you are not comfortable with. (The comfort zone being the stuff that you’re comfortable doing, the stuff that you know how to do and that you’re used to doing.)

The thing that I disagree about this idea is the comfortable part. As I said, getting out of your comfort zone implies doing uncomfortable things. Uncomfortable implies not feeling so good, being unhappy. So “Get out of your comfort zone!” would mean “Start doing things that make you feel miserable!”.

Since that’s what I hear when somebody tells me to get out of my comfort zone, I find myself thinking: “What’s wrong with being comfortable? I like comfortable shoes, comfortable clothes, comfortable beds. Everything the human race has been doing is meant to improve our comfort. Have we been doing everything wrong?”

That is the reason why I would stop telling myself to get out of my comfort zone and start saying “Extend your comfort zone!” instead.

Be comfortable with doing stuff that you’re not used to! Be ok with not knowing everything! Be happy while learning and improving yourself! Extend your comfort zone!

 

Leave a Reply

