Don’t let the outside kill what’s inside of you

Sunday, 17 March, 2013

Do you know that feeling you have after watching a mindfucking film, when you think that your whole life is going to be different from now on. Your eyes are more open than before, you suddenly see this whole new side of the world.

I just had one of those moments. It’s been a long time.. American beauty. I’m not going to recommend it to you, because I don’t know your story. I don’t know if you’re gonna like it, I don’t know if you can find a way to interpret it. That’s the beauty of art. You see it from your inside.

I have probably seen what my inner child wanted me to see. And the message that I want to tell (to myself) is:

Don’t let the outside kill what’s inside of you. Don’t let society kill your spirit. How you feel is more important than how you think you are. Or how others feel about you.

Don’t feel like you have to do what everybody else is doing.

And don’t let stuff define you. Stuff comes and goes. Be sure to own something you’re never gonna lose: yourself. Your person, your character, who you are. Put yourself first.

You have nothing if you’re not yourself.

This interpretation is influenced by another step in my life that I’m going through. The 12th grade, the maturity exam (btw, I have figured it out why it is called this way), decisions regarding the future… I know that it’s not nice to not have any money, especially since I know very well how that’s like. It’s normal to think about studying something that will give you more chances of getting a well-paid job. But what I’m saying is: since you probably won’t let your body starve to do what your soul wants, to paint, for example (if you’d be able to do that, then you have my admiration), don’t do it the other way around either. Don’t sacrifice your soul for money. Happiness comes from the inside. I believe that this should be everyone’s purpose in life: to find the balance that’ll make them happy.

 

Leave a Reply

